Experts and State Contacts

STATE CONTACT
Alabama

Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

John Grizzle
State Fish Pathologist
Auburn University
334.844.3474
grizzjm@auburn.edu

 

Alaska

Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Alaska Department of Natural Resources

Ted Meyers
State Fish Pathologist
Alaska Department of Fish and Game
907.465.3577
ted_meyers@fishgame.ak.us

Bob Piorkowski
Invasive Coldwater Species Coordinator
Alaska Department of Fish and Game
907.465.6109
robert_piorkowski@fishgame.ak.us

Denny Lassuy
Invasive Species Coordinator
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
907.786.3813
denny_lassuy@fws.gov



Arizona

Arizona Game and Fish Department

Rob Bettaso
Fish Health Specialist
Arizona Game and Fish Department
928.367.2464
rbettaso@azgfd.gov

Arkansas

Arkansas Game and Fish Commission

Melissa Jones
Coldwater Fish Coordinator
Arkansas Game and Fish Commission
877.625.7521

California

California Department of Fish and Game

California Department of Conservation

Bill Cox
State Fish Pathologist
California Department of Fish and Game
916.358.2827
wtcox@dfg.ca.gov

Colorado

Colorado Division of Wildlife

CDOW Whirling Disease Page

Colorado Department of Natural Resources

Mark Jones
Research Leader, Aquatic Wildlife Research Group
Colorado Division of Wildlife
970.472.4361
mark.jones@state.co.us

Dana Winkelman
Colorado Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
970.491.1414
dlw@cnr.colostate.edu

Pete Walker
Fish Pathologist
Colorado Division of Wildlife
970.842.6312
pete.walker@state.co.us

Connecticut

Connecticut Wildlife Division

Rick Van Nostrand
State Fish Pathologist
Department of Environmental Protection, Inland Fisheries Division
860.622.2200
richard.vannostrand@po.state.ct.us

Delaware

Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Division of Wildlife

Mike Stangl
Fish Biologist
Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, Division of Wildlife
302.739.4782
mike.stangl@state.de.us

District of Columbia

District of Columbia Fisheries and Wildlife Division

Jon Siemien
Program Manager
District of Columbia Fisheries and Wildlife Division
202.535.2260
jon.siemien@dc.gov

Florida

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

Greg Vermeer
Fish Pathologist
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
352.583.3545
greg.vermeer@myfwc.com

Georgia

Georgia Departmnet of Natural Resources

Ted Hendrickx
Senior Fish Biologist
Georgia Departmnet of Natural Resources
706.557.3039
ted_hendrickx@dnr.state.ga.us

Hawaii

Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
Division of Forestry and Wildlife

Sara Pellepen
Aquatic Invasive Species Coordinator
Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
Division of Forestry and Wildlife
808.236.7422
sarap@hawaii.gov

Idaho

Idaho Department of Fish and Game

Keith Johnson
Fish Pathology Supervisor
Idaho Department of Fish and Game
208.939.2413
kjohnson@idfg.state.id.us

Fred Partridge
Idaho Department of Fish and Game
208.287.2773
fpartridge@idfg.state.id.us

Illinois

Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Division of Fish and Wildlife

Steve Shults
Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Division of Fish and Wildlife
309.968.7531
sshults@dnrmail.state.il.us

Indiana

Indiana Department of Natural Resources

Doug Keller
Aquatic Invasive Species Coordinator
Indiana Department of Natural Resources
317.234.3883
dkeller@dnr.in.gov

Iowa

Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Alan Johnson
Fish Research Biologist
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
641.647.2658
alan.johnson@dnr.state.ia.us

Mike Mason
Hatchery Section Supervisor
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
515.281.6072
Mike.Mason@dnr.state.ia.us

Kansas

Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks

Jason Goeckler
Aquatic Nuisance Species Coordinator
Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
620.342.0658
jasong@wp.state.ks.us

Kentucky

Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources

Gerry Buynak
Assistant Director of Fisheries
Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
502.564.7109
gerard.buynak@ky.gov

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries

Scott Longman
Aquatic Nuisance Species Program Manager
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
225.765.2335

Maine

Maine Department of Conservation

Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife

Russell Danner
Fish Pathologist
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
207.287.2813
grdanner@adelphia.net

Maryland

Maryland Department of Natural Resources

Susan Rivers
Fish Health Specialist
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
301.791.4736
srivers@dnr.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife

Ken Simmons
Chief of Hatcheries
Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife
508.792.7270
ken.simmons@state.ma.us

Michigan

Michigan Department of Natural Resources

Great Lakes Fishery Commission

Gary Whelan
Fish Production Manager
Michigan Department of Natural Resources
517.373.6948
whelang@michigan.gov

Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Joe Marcino
State Fish Pathologist
Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
651.296.5118
joe.marcino@dnr.state.mn.us

Missouri

Missouri Department of Conservation

Devona Weirich
Fish Pathologist
Missouri Department of Conservation
660.438.4465
devona.weirich@mdc.mo.gov

Brian Canaday
Invasive Species Coordinator
Missouri Department of Conservation
573.522.4115
brian.canaday@mdc.mo.gov

 

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks

Dennis Riecke
Aquatic Nuisance Species Coordinator
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
601.432.2209
dennisr@mdwfp.state.ms.us

Tom Holman
Hatchery Coordinator
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
601.432.2209
tomh@mdwfp.state.ms.us

Montana

Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks

Dick Vincent
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks
406.994.4090
rvincent@mt.gov

Eileen Ryce
Aquatic Nuisance Species Coordinator
Montana Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks
406.444.2448
eryce@mt.gov

Nebraska

Nebraska Game and Parks Commission

Dean Rosenthal
Assistant Director of Administration
Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
402.471.5495
dean.rosenthal@ngpc.ne.gov

Nevada

Nevada Department of Wildlife

David Sanger
State Fish Pathologist
775.688.1536
dsanger@ndow.org

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Fish and Game Department

Robert Fawcett
Hatchery Supervisor
New Hampshire Fish and Game Department
603.271.2501
rfawcett@wildlife.state.nh.us

New Jersey

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife

William Stansley
Wildlife Toxicologist

New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife
bill.stansley@earthlink.net

New Mexico

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish

Richard Hansen
Coldwater Fisheries Biologist
New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
505.476.8055
rhansen@state.nm.us

Stacy Cooper-Kennedy
Fish Health Specialist
New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
505.476.8050
smcooper@state.nm.us

New York

New York Division of Fish, Wildlife, and Marine Resources

Phil Hulbert
Superintendent of Fish Culture
New York Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources
518.402.8890
pxhulber@gw.dec.state.ny.us

Andrew Noyes
Fish Pathologist
New York Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources
505.476.8050
adnoyes@gw.dec.state.ny.us

North Carolina

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission

North Caroline Division of Environmental and Natural Resources

M. Kyle Briggs
Fish Production Manager
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
828.659.3324
kyle.briggs@ncwildlife.org
North Dakota

North Dakota Game and Fish Department

Lynn Schlueter
Aquatic Nuisance Species Coordinator
North Dakota Game and Fish Department
701.662.3617
lschluet@state.nd.us

Ohio

Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Dave Insley
Hatchery Superintendent
Ohio Department of Natural Resources
Division of Wildlife
419.684.7499
casfh@nwonline.net

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation

Steve Spade
Head of Hatcheries
Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation
580.474.2663
okfish@sctelcom.net

 

Oregon

Center for Fish Disease Research Oregon State University

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

Tony Amandi
Senior Fish Pathologist
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
Oregon State University Department of Microbiology
541.737.1855
amandia@ucs.orst.edu

Jim Gores
Invasive Species Coordinator
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
503.856.9176
james.k.gores@state.or.us

 

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources

Pennsylvania Game Commission

Kenneth Stark
State Fish Pathologist
Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources
814.355.4837
kstark@state.pa.us

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Division of Fish & Wildlife

Veronica Masson
Freshwater Fisheries Biologist
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
401.789.7481
veronica.masson@dem.ri.gov

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Natural Resources

Bob VanDolan
Director of Fisheries Laboratories
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
843.953.9819
vandolanr@mrd.dnr.state.sc.us

David Whitaker
Director of Fisheries Management
South Carolina Department of Natural Resources
843.953.9392
whitakerd@mrd.dnr.state.sc.us

South Dakota

South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks

Jeff Shearer
Coldwater Fish Biologist
South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks
605.394.1759
jeff.shearer@state.sd.us

Rick Cordes
Fish Pathologist and Hatchery Manager
South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks
605.642.6920
rick.cordes@state.sd.us

Tennessee

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency

Frank Fiss
Trout Hatchery Supervisor
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
615.781.6519
frank.fiss@state.tn.us

Texas

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Greg Southard
Fish Health Director
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
512.353.3492
greg.southard@tpwd.state.tx.us

Patricia Varner
Veterinarian
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
888.646.5623

Loraine Fries
Laboratory Director
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
512.353.3492
loraine.fries@tpwd.state.tx.us

Utah

Utah Division of Wildlife Resources

Utah DOW Whirling Disease Page

Chris Wilson
Director, Fisheries Experiment Station
Utah Division of Wildlife Resources
435.752.1066
chriswilson@utah.gov

Vermont

Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department

Barbara Johnston
Fish Health Biologist
Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department
802.241.3726

barbara.johnston@state.vt.us

Virginia

Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries

Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

George Duckwall
Coldwater Hatchery Manager
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
434.525.7522
george.duckwall@dgif.virginia.gov

Washington

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

John Kerwin
Head of Hatcheries
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
360.902.2681
kerwijek@dfw.wa.gov

West Virginia

West Virginia Division of Natural Resources

Mike Shingleton
Administrator of Trout Program
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
304.558.2771

Vicki Blazer
U.S. Geological Survey
304.724.4434
vblazer@usgs.gov

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Myron Kebus
Aquaculture Veterinarian
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture/Consumer Protection, Division of Animal Health
608.224.4876
myron.kebus@datcp.state.wi.us

Sue Marcquenski
Staff Specialist
608.266.2871
marcqs@dnr.state.wi.us

Wyoming

Wyoming Game and Fish Department

David Money
State Fish Pathologist
Wyoming Game and Fish Department
307.766.5620
dmoney@uwyo.edu

Warren Mischke
Hatchery Manager
Wyoming Game and Fish Department
307.672.7418
warren.mis@wgf.state.wy.us